Woo hoo for Year II!!!

This past weekend  I celebrated dating my best friend, Cole,  for the past two years. Our actual anniversary is today, however, long distance and classes meant we couldn’t celebrate together “in person.”  To some, two years isn’t a big deal, but to me it most certainly is! I think that celebrating all of the victories (big and small) is what leads to a joyful life and that’s certainly what it’s been while dating Cole.

Cole and I have been friends since our middle school days of Hollister t-shirts and juicy couture track sweatsuits. So basically he’s been around for the good, bad, and ugly. I’m so glad we rekindled our steamy middle school romance.  Growing up together has been such a privilege. He is my rock and keeps me sane.

I can’t even put in to words how special he is to me.

Love is truly such a special thing. I’m so fortunate to date someone so easygoing, carefree, and fun. He is so silly with me and reminds me life isn’t meant to be taken so seriously.

I never imagined myself to be the girl in such a serious relationship so young, but God knows exactly what he’s doing. Cole has pushed me to be a better me and to reach for the stars.

We celebrated two years well…with a visit to the Billy Graham Library, cooking together and topped off the evening with donuts, which is always a winner! I couldn’t think of a more perfect way to spend the day!  Our time together always flies by, but it was an absolute blast!

photo 3 photo 5 photo 3

(Don’t worry…it’s just sparkling grape juice!)

Instead of blabbing on and on about how wonderful and sweet and funny he is, I figured a couple’s interview would be highly more entertaining, and let you learn a little more about why I think he’s so grand.

 What is your favorite date you’ve ever been on?

Him: That’s so hard. It’s easy to say prom. But, I would have to say our first fishing date. We spent the whole day outside and went on a scavenger hint to find a movie.

Her: We’ve had so many cute dates together. I think my favorite one to date was having a picnic on the parkway and watching the sun set. It was so beautiful. 

 What’s the secret to making long distance work?

Him: Communication all the way. You have to figure out a way to live your everyday life with that person even though you may not be physically together.

Her: Phone conversations. Putting away 10-15 minutes every day to catch up on life makes all the difference.

 What’s your favorite thing about one another?

Him: She’s incredibly kind and positive. 

Her: Cole is incredibly talented. I love when he sings to me in the car.

The one thing he/she can do to always make me laugh is…

Him: She can always make me laugh by trying to be funny. It’s funny because it’s not.

Her: Spinning me around and pretending to be ballroom dancers. We both aren’t the greatest at dancing, so it brings about instant giggles. P.S.- I have GREAT jokes…people think I’m hilarious! 

My favorite part about dating he/she is…

Him: Having someone to go through life with.

Her: The same things make us happy.

 Our favorite spot to be is

Him: The park. Or the beach.

Her: The park. We’ve had so many special memories there and truly enjoy being able to “get-away” from the craziness of life and enjoy the simpler things, like fishing and a good swing.We are both totally kiddos at heart and the park allows us to fully embrace that. 

 The one thing he/she does best is…

Him: Encouraging people and displaying love through words.

Her: He is really, really good at telling stories.

I knew that he/she was a keeper once…

Him: I knew she was a keeper a long time ago. I’d say what really confirmed it was when I locked my keys in the car and she laughed with me about it. Or when we watch panthers games and she pretends to know what’s going on so I have a football buddy.

 Her: Oh my. I am a handful and quite quirky, so there are many instances where he’s deserved such a title. I guess I would say when Cole started shooing birds away because he knew I’m terrified of them.  

If I had to describe him/her in a song it would be…

Him: “She is” by Ben Rector. She is a little bit of everything. She is lots of extremes. She keeps you on your toes and keeps life interesting! 

Her: “How sweet it is” -James Taylor. James Taylor reminds me of Cole. Also, he sings that song a lot. 

The thing that he/she does that I can’t stand is…

Him: She never locks the doors on her car and is a hypochondriac.

Her: Excessively using salt.

What’s the one thing he/she says the most?

Him: “I love, love!”

Her: “It’s all about the heart.”

 What’s the worst thing about dating in today’s generation?

Him: I think that to some, love has become a hobby. It’s become a thing done irresponsibly. 

Her: I think it’s all what you make it to be. I’d like to think we “date” differently than most of our peers. I think what I like least about dating in today’s generation is how quickly people choose to give away their hearts, when the heart is so valuable and “everything you do flows from it.” 

 What’s one thing you’ve learned about each other that you would’ve never known before?

Him: She is the biggest goofball. 

Her: Cole has the weirdest dance moves I’ve ever seen. He also really likes to dance in the car. 

What’s the most important thing for a relationship to have?

Him: I can’t pick one. Top three are: love, God at the center and effective communication skills.

Her: It’s hard to pick just one. I think that the most important thing, in my opinion, is to be on the same page. I think having the same goals, ambitions, dreams, and beliefs make a relationship. If he and I don’t  have the same core, we can’t expect to be in the same place.

 What is the one thing you wish you told your significant other more often?

Him: I am so happy to date you.

Her: You are awesome. And the best. And so talented. And that I believe in you and will be your #1 fan, forever!

Thanks for reading today and sharing such a special time with us!

I am one very blessed girl and am so thankful for it! Love is a sweet, sweet thing.

Best wishes,

XO

Cole & Savannah

One thought on “Woo hoo for Year II!!!

Leave a comment