tick tock, hurry up clock?

Something to know about me is that I get excited pretty easily. Especially so about things that haven’t come yet. The idea of what is to come excites me. I spend a lot of my time dreaming about what things are to come and imagining what they will be like. I also LOVE to celebrate, even the very littlest things of all.

Ever since I was a little girl I would coax my little sister into coming down the stairs in the wee hours of Christmas morning to check and see if Santa had come. I was so simply excited I could not wait, even though my parents had specifically told my sister and I we were not under any circumstances to go to the living room before 6am. I can say in all honesty, I never once obeyed that rule…sorry Mom & Dad! Another example of my impatience or “extreme excited-ness” would be my infamous celebrating events months before they even begin. I begin celebrating Christmas and listening to seasonal music in October, if not at the end of September. I count down the days until my birthday every year…mind you I am now 20. And I’m pretty sure by now aren’t I supposed to be dreading turning another year older? Nope, definitely not me!

Some people think that this “excitement for life” is great and dandy. Sometimes I feel that way, too. But I’ve found that it tends to do me more harm than good.

One of my favorite verses in the bible is the classic, Jeremiah 29:11. It says: “For I know the plans I have for you”, declares the Lord “Plans to prosper you and give you hope and a future.”

I love this verse because it gives me comfort knowing God has a special plan for ME. He’s already done dreaming  for my future, like I do and planned something great for me. He’s already a step ahead of the game and has everything all worked out.  However, this verse frustrates me to no end because I want God to whisper little secrets of that plan into my ear. Unfortunately, He doesn’t really work that way. I’ve found He likes it much better when I find out the plan on His time, which is far different than mine. His timing is called faith, something that I’m working on daily.

I’ve found that I have a lot to work on personally. My wishing, hoping and dreaming for the future is okay, but I don’t want to let it get in the way of the things that are happening presently. More simply stated: I’m not the best at being patient.

I’m patient when I listen to others speak.

I’m patient when working with sweet babies.

I’m not patient when it comes to do with time.

It’s so hard for me be present sometimes. I love life now, don’t get me wrong. In fact, it’s the greatest it’s ever been. But, I know I have even greater things to look ahead to.

You see, it’s my job now to make the present be great. I am in full control of my perspective of the things around me. If I always dream about how great the future will be eventually the future will be the present and I’ll be off in dreamland thinking about how great the next season will be. And totally miss out on the treasure that now is!

Have you ever found yourself in a situation that you wished away hoping for the next best thing or something greater, to find that you missed or regretted wishing away that situation?I know that I sure have. You know the song by Trace Adkins called, “You’re Gonna Miss This?” I feel like that song was absolutely written about me. Maybe some of you, too. It’s easy to get ahead of where we currently are in life and hope for something even better in the future. It stems from things like a stressed out mom wishing she had more “me” time and children who weren’t quite so young and dependent, to a mom with a quiet home, and grown children she now longs to have call her and need her. Or a college girl wishing she could just begin her career, to later start her career and see what great times she wished away. I feel like everyone has at least moment that they’ve wished away. But the truth is, we have to try our hardest to enjoy the now because each moment is precious…and not to be harsh, but our next moment isn’t promised to any of us.

I’ve written four truths about patience and presentness and put them on my wall as a reminder to enjoy the now.

  1. If I don’t invest my heart fully in the season I am presently in, I am keeping myself from making my next season even greater.

2. The circumstances in my present season that I don’t work on now will follow me to my next season of life and keep it from being it’s greatest. 

3. The season I am in now was once what I had dreamed of coming. If I spend all of my time focused on what’s next, I’ll always miss the greatness of now. 

4. If I am fixated on what I envision the next phase of life being like, I will always be disappointed when my expectations of what the future is like don’t meet the reality of what God has planned. 

I’m writing this today mostly for myself. Trying to follow your own advice can be really tough sometimes, especially in areas like this. One doesn’t simply wake up and get better and become more patient. It takes time, prayer, a heart that longs to change, and only a Jesus who can change it.

Maybe you are in a similar situation like I am. If so, I encourage you to truly spend today being present. Take in all that is around you and enjoy even the littlest of moments today.

Peace, blessings, & patience,

Savannah

Leave a comment